Posted by: Dustin Faulkner | May 18, 2008

This time, a story

So I’m sure anyone who reads this will be utterly lost without knowing the story behind the pictures.

First of all, I should say that this was drawn by my friend Keylan Smith in honor a story that happened to me years ago. It is his memory of the situation, He was there, and he was behind me on the escalator when “it” happened.

We traveled to New York together with the band and this particular night, we went to Broadway to see “Annie Get Your Gun”. The name of the theater escapes me right now, but I’m sure that it’s not important. In this theater that we went to, in order to get to the main auditorium, you had to pass through a gauntlet of stairs, escalators, and elevators. While I was getting off one of the escalators, I slid the heel of my shoe at the very top of it. What proceeded to happen is beyond my understanding,

Somehow, and I’m not sure that I will ever know, the escalator grabbed a hold of something on the heel of my shoe and bit off a portion off of it. There was a loud grinding noise followed by two consecutive thuds. I had no idea what happened until I noticed my dad had a very angry look on his face and was looking directly at my right heel. The other loud noise I heard was Keylan behind me choking on his laughter and maybe a lung. When I looked down at my shoe, it looked like a miniature shark had attacked the bottom of my shoe (and won).There were “teeth” marks dug into the shoe. My dad was very angry that I had ruined a brand new pair of shoes bought just for the trip to New York, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen Keylan happier in his life.

So as you read the comic above be reminded that this is what happened. No matter what Keylan may say, this is how it happened. I should also note that when the show was over and we were walking back outside, all of the escalators were broken down and had signs everywhere. Which reminds me of a quote by Mitch Hedberg, “I like escalators because an escalator can never break: it can only become stairs. You’ll never see an Escalator Temporarily Out Of Order sign, just Escalator Temporarily Stairs. Sorry for the convenience. We apologize that you can still get up there.”

Responses

  1. I love this… gets better every time it’s mentioned. that was really the best part of the night because I fell asleep during the show.


Leave a Reply

Categories

