Posted by: Dustin Faulkner | May 31, 2008

Dungeons and Dragons.

So let me explain something to you first. I have never played D&D or any other pen and paper role-playing game ever. I vaguely remember my uncle playing the marvel superheroes version of a rpg, and I’m pretty sure I still have the source book around here somewhere that I stole from him. Of course I had no idea what it was, I just thought it was a book with alot of information on Marvel superheroes.

Fast forward a decade or so. I’m browsing a message board and someone posts a link to a web comic called Darths and Droids. It’s not too remarkable because it just copied another person’s idea named Shamus Young. He had started a web comic called DM of the Rings. It used screencaps from the Lord of the Rings movie trilogy to tell a narrative of a bunch of D&D players running a campaign in Middle-Earth. I found it very funny even though I didnt understand all the jokes that related to the rules. But I was able through context to figure most things out.

I’m really not sure what happened next, I know I went from website to website looking for more webcomics. I am a comic book kind of person and have been very interested in the medium for a long time. Somehow I was running into more and more pen and paper rpg based webcomics. Eventually I found one of the best and most popular,”The Order of the Stick“. I can say it is one of the best narrative’s I’ve ever read (and still reading, it’s ongoing). It also interested me even more in these types of rpgs. So for months I hid my knowledge, not knowing who to trust with my secret nerdom. It came up at a Scattergories game. I was ousted.

Somehow, this made me even more bold and I actually started looking at the actual products. I found copies of the rulebooks online and started reading them. It ended with me signing up on the player registry at pen and paper games. This was in hope of finding a fellow spirit and someone who could walk me through a game. You see, this was the problem. I have never watched a game. I had a basic understanding of the rules and the theory of the game but I had no idea how you were supposed to actually “play”. Yesterday I found something that I think anyone who is interested in the game should listen to. Or even if you’re not interested you should still listen because it is just that funny.

Penny Arcade. I’ll let Gabe explain what is going on. But in a nut shell, it’s a podcast of a D&D session with people who have never played before. I think it really opened my eyes to what really goes on in a session, and I think I’m going to try a little harder to find some people to play with. I know Keylan is interested, so if anyone knows anyone who want to play contact one of us.

There are a few other places I found that you can listen to a podcast of a D&D session but the best place to go is RPGMP3.

They have a ton of session’s on there if you can get past the British accents and actually understand what they are saying that is…

Leave a Reply

Categories

