Posted by: Dustin Faulkner | July 22, 2008

A short rebuttal

Just reposting blake’s review of batman and my response.

Movie Review: Dark Knight

I went to see the new Batman movie last night. The theatre was packed, we ended up having to sit on the front row. My neck is still stiff. It’s actually not too bad once you get used to it. That takes a good 20-30min though. Anyway, I’ll have to say the movie was pretty good, it was fairly long but kept you interested the whole time. I’ll also have to say that Heath Ledgers performance was somewhat disturbing. I’m not sure if it’s because I knew what had transpired after the movie was filmed, but mostly I feel it’s because he really knailed the crazy killer part. No doubt about it, it was the scariest rendition of Joker to ever hit the screen. I really enjoyed Jack Nickleson as the Joker in the first movie. I was talking it over with a few people last night and they asked me what I thought the difference was between the two. As I said, Ledger was much scarier. The way I would describe it is; when Nickleson was about to commit a crime in the first one, you were anxiously / joyously waiting to see how he would do it. With Ledger, your scared and nervous over what’s about to happen. That about sums it up…

Dustin Faulkner Says:
July 22, 2008 at 7:34 pm

I suppose that’s a fair assessment. But it’s really apples and oranges with Chris Nolan’s version of Batman and Tim Burton’s. I love Tim Burton, but he had no idea how to make a movie about a comic book. He admitted openly that he had never read any comics up to that point The worst things that ever happened to batman’s image were the tv show in the sixties, and Tim Burton’s idea of Batman. Because no matter how crazy Jack was in Batman, honestly he was just a gangster in makeup. When the joker has been written best in the mythos, the writers had to have three things: Violence(obviously), homo-eroticism(towards Batman specifically), and plain ole insanity. And yeah, I think Heath Ledger and the writers nailed it. I wish I could go see a horror movie today with that sort of chilling energy he portrayed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

