Posted by: Dustin Faulkner | July 29, 2008

Dr. Horrible

Have you really not seen it yet? My sources(which is really just me snooping around the net) have noticed that all the acts of Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog are up on Hulu. In fact Hulu will let you watch it in one big episode or in each act like it was shown originally.

I suppose I should go ahead and admit my mancrush® on Joss Whedon…and Nathan Fillion….and Neil Patrick Harris…and my perfectly reasonable plain old regular crush on Felicia Day.

Joss Whedon is/was the creator of Firefly. If you never saw an episode of Firefly, then too bad. It was cancelled by Fox after only 14 episodes in the first season. Also, Fox are collectively a bunch of douche-bags.

As most people who know me already know, I am a card carrying nerd. And with that comes a love of Science-fiction. Now while I’m not completely geeky over it, I still really enjoy the genre. Specifically the sub genre of Space Opera. Like that of Star Wars, which combines Science-fiction with Fantasy. Seems like a reasonable marriage right? How about this: Science-fiction/Western. Yup. That’s Firefly. And It’s some of the most entertaining television I’ve ever watched.

It’s about a captain of a smuggling ship(Nathan Fillion.hey I’ve heard that name somewhere…) and his crew swashbuckling their way across the galaxy. Sadly, the show was just before it’s time. Fox didn’t help in any way, shape or form though. Consistantly airing episodes out of order confused most viewers and turned them off. The strong DVD sales show that, when watched as whole, the show excels in its story. The DVD sales also convinced Fox to do a movie based on the show: Serenity. It brought back the entire cast and cleaned up the loose ends left open at the end of the show due to the early cancellation.

It’s one of my favorite shows of all time and everyone that I know that has seen the show seemed to love it just as much as I do. You can watch the entire first season of Firefly for free on Hulu. /rant over

I’m not going to get too sentimental
like those other sticky valentines

Responses

  1. Firefly was the best and I agree the execs at Fox are douche-bags. But they canceled the show after 11 episodes. The other 3 were never even aired and they didn’t air them in order. Freaking morons. Every time I watch Firefly I imagine what could have been. There was so much potential.

  2. definitely completely geeky, but you shouldn’t be embarrassed to just boldly admit it.
    oh, i think you are in luck though, Neil Patrick Harris likes boys too.
    ha


Leave a Reply

Categories

