Posted by: Dustin Faulkner | August 20, 2008

Well, alright then…

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,24216087-5006787,00.html

I could probably write and write about this. I’ll try to restrain myself.

Obviously there are a few points to look at with this. First of all, should this make you question the actual song? I really could go either way with that. I personally couldn’t care less about talent or songwriting when I hear someone perform and I know that they mean it. So, with that credibility lost, how can I enjoy it? People write songs everyday and 99% of them suck. And it has nothing to do with how talented they are at songwriting, at least to me it doesn’t. It has everything to do with whether I know the person means it. My favorite performences are the ones where people lose all inhibitions and are completly transparent and open to the audience. Now, watching the hillsong videos and testimony before I knew this, I felt that sort of sincerity that I’m talking about. But know, I question it. It’s one of those things that make me question a lot of things.

Another point that this brings up is the idea behind the feint itself. If the man really moved people with his lie, does the end justify the means? It is a hard question to ask, but it is one as a Christian I have to ask. His goal with this could have been a few things. Was he doing it to glorify God? In that case it seems like he would have kept his mouth shut and never told anyone. But another case could be he was doing it because the song by itself might not have been picked up by HIllsong but adding a sappy story to it would have moved them to get the song on their album. Either way, you can’t deny that people at least claimed that they felt the presence of God when they heard this song, which in my mind is a lose-lose situation for Christians. Because it comes down to either people were lying about what they felt or they sincerely felt something, but it wasn’t from God, or they really did feel God and they felt him via a lie. That is a serious theological question. Something that I’m sure I will be pondering for days, weeks, and years.

Something else that comes out of this, what does Hillsong do? Theological issues aside, I think the best thing that they can do is forget about the song. It’s not like it is the only song they have. And while I don’t think that it is just flat out wrong to play the song, I think the issues and emotions involved can cause a negative atmostphere for some people. In this case I think it’s best to just move on and forget about the song.

The timing of this is very strange to me. I mean, we just played this song at Skyling this past Sunday. It makes me wonder what would have happened if this came out say, last friday. It makes me thankful that we didn’t have to make the decision of whether or not to play it. I think the most important part of this situation is this: The de facto precendent that this makes, which is, people can be led to God by a lie, is one, frankly, I don’t want to think about. It is something that honestly makes me sick inside to ponder. Part of me wants to just set it aside and forget about it. But another part of me thinks that it is one of the most important questions I can ask myself. And to be fair, it is not like this thing has never happened. It seems like every year a religous leader is accused of something or another or some pastor admits to some sin. And everytime, people question everything ever said by that person.

And so, while I’ve thought about these things before, it really hit home this time. I don’t know why yet, maybe it has something to do with the timing of us playing the song so recently, or maybe it is something that God is trying to get me to focus on for his purpose. Either way, I feel like I need questions answered.

I’m missing your laugh,
How did it break?
And when did your eyes
Begin to look fake?
I hope you’re as happy as you’re pretending

Responses

  1. I think Paul somes it up pretty good.

    PHILIPPIANS 1 : 15-18

  2. @blake, right. which is what Rich Kirkpatrick was saying in his blog. And to me that is just two more questions. Accepting the fact that motives doesn’t matter, one of two possibilities exist. Either people are able to do great things for people and the church without the anointing of God, or His anointing can fall on people while in an act of sin. I tend to believe the second option, because I’ve been taught all my life that God works through all things, it is just jarring to me to see it happen through such an obvious betrayal of trust to a church. I feel bad looking through my post now, the first paragraph seems very negative and I never expounded on other points of view even though I was feeling them also. But thanks for the verse, I knew that there was something like that in there that I was missing.

  3. I am with you on God works through ALL things!! I am praying about what we should do about singing this song…. it is still a good song and I know that God will use it for His Kingdom… but for me, the testimony was really the thing that connected me to the song and now that it’s fake I really don’t know!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

