Posted by: Dustin Faulkner | October 12, 2008

Muh Dad

My Dad bought a new truck today.

I had disagreements with him about buying another big gas-guzzling truck, but…he likes trucks so there you go. I have to say, after riding in it a bit and driving it once, it is a pretty cool vehicle. ANYWAYS, I wouldn’t waste your time with me telling about my dad latest vehicular purchase.

I decided for this blog post I will show you my cd mix I’ve made for him. You see, as far as I know, every vehicle my dad has driven regularly since I’ve been born hasn’t had a CD player in it. So this evening we were in my room watching football(my sister had two of her cousins over so we were kicked out of the living room), and I told my dad that I should make him a mix to inagurate his  new truck. So during the LSU-FL game(RtR), for a few hours we just listened to music. Which is something I don’t really get to do with my dad.

It’s funny, I have a pretty eclectic taste in music, the weirder the better. And while my dad is pretty conservative, he has an open mind when it comes to my music. So it surprised me while we were scrolling through my collection some of the artist and songs he liked after I played them for him. I’ve never known him to like any sort of electronic music, but I put on Daft Punk and he loves it. He was born in 1964, and he likes Underoath. While I thought it was a sure bet, he didn’t really enjoy Radiohead, but he really liked My Morning Jacket. Honestly, I think it’s the only time I’ve ever talked to him in depth for a long period of time about music. Specifically, music that I enjoy.

On this mix I’ve purposely tried to stray away from bands and songs that he might have heard flipping through the radio, or any songs he heard while he was growing up. There was a few exceptions, like Dylan, that I didn’t want to keep off because I told him I would make cds for all of his bands, but I didn’t have a full album of Dylan stuff. So while it looks like I just made a cd of some of my favorite songs, these are actually songs that he and I listened to and he wanted on the mix. I was pretty proud of him tonight.

  1. Some Will Seek Forgiveness, Others Escape    Underoath
  2. Like a Rolling Stone                                            Bob Dylan
  3. Classic Cars                                                        Bright Eyes
  4. Don’t panic                                                          Coldplay
  5. Despite What You’ve Been Told                         Two Gallants
  6. Dearest                                                                 Buddy Holly
  7. One More Time                                                    Daft Punk
  8. The Casualty                                                        Cursive
  9. We Are Nowhere And It’s Now                           Bright Eyes
  10. The Best Deceptions                                           Dashboard Confessional
  11. Underwater                                                          Death Cab for Cutie
  12. Great Expectations                                             The Gaslight Anthem
  13. The Devil Never Sleeps                                       Iron & Wine
  14. Sleep Through The Static                                  Jack Johnson
  15. The Well And The Lighthouse                           Arcade Fire
  16. I’m Gonna Find Another You                             John Mayer
  17. Chaos                                                                   MuteMath
  18. Dancefloors                                                         My Morning Jacket
  19. The World At Large                                             Modest Mouse

How does it feel
To be on your own
With no direction home
Like a complete unknown
Like a rolling stone?

Responses

  1. wow, love the title… that was a real twist when you started talking about music… use it to pick up the ladies sometime


Leave a Reply

Categories

