Posted by: Dustin Faulkner | April 9, 2009

Sweet

So I helped out Lee and some of his classmates yesterday on a short film name Sweet. About a guy and some girls and an ice cream shop. I think. I don’t really know, it was my first day filming and it was being shot out of order. I was a little lost plot-wise, but the people were great. We stayed perfectly on schedule, overcoming the problem of customers walking in and out of a fully functioning business.

Mostly when I’m working with Lee I concentrate on sound. That was true today as well, but I will also be composing the all the original music this time. I did the same for the last project they had, but I have a feeling this will be in a different ball park. I’m leaning towards writing the whole thing on acoustic guitar. The story and characters are kinda quirky, and I think maybe a folky style acoustic guitar might be kinda cool. I don’t know how much of a vibe I can ascertain from a few short clips, but hopefully by the time of the rough cut I’ll have most of the composing done and just worry about fitting the parts I’ve written to a  natural place in the story. I’m concerned about time constraints, but I was concerned last time too and it took just a few days of work.

The great thing about composing (at least to me) is that I don’t have to worry so much about story and lyrics. Don’t get me wrong, I love writing that stuff, but it certainly is a big weight off my shoulders when I don’t have that holding me back. Nothing is more aggravating than working on a song and being held back by the other half of songwriting. Let’s say you have a great lyric, but you can’t find the music to fit. Or perhaps even more frustrating to me, having a really cool musical idea, but no lyrics to attach it to. I’m not sure why I find that more frustrating. Maybe, it’s because once you have a musical idea the song feels so much more finished than when you have a smattering of words but nothing to sing them over. There is a more complete feeling to writing a musical idea than there is a lyrical idea.

Looks like I’ll be helping out Lee again Sunday, until then. Excelsior.

Counting all different ideas drifting away
Past and present they don't matter
not if you just sort it out
Watch your moving in elliptical pattern
Think it's not what you say
What you say is way too complicated
Leave a Reply

Categories

